Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > House
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2016, 11:38 AM

3 posts, read 9,879 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

This past October I had some travertine tiling done on my outdoor concrete deck that's located on the 3rd floor of my condo.

The tiles are now showing major cracks in them.

There's been very little human activity on the deck (i.e no one's been on it regularly) and there are no heavy objects sitting on the tile.

I'm new to the world of tiling but this does not seem to be at all normal. I'm not sure what to do -- get a second opinion from another expert, contact the original tiler to complain, etc.

Any recommendations / thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2016, 12:06 PM

28,455 posts, read 85,361,596 times
Travertine tiles are not generally recommended for outdoor use -- because of its porosity, if not properly sealed it can pull moisture from even the air. That change in moisture, along with temperature cycles, can cause failure.

Was a mortar base used? What is the climate? Is there solar exposure, where it heats up during the day and cools at night? Seems like a bad idea on many levels...

Old 01-12-2016, 12:10 PM

22,584 posts, read 47,649,975 times
How to Use Travertine Tile Outdoors | Home Guides | SF Gate

"Take care if using travertine tiles in this way not to use tiles measuring 3/8-inch thickness or thinner. Thinner tiles will need a mortar bed for proper installation and may crack outdoors."