Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2013, 11:19 AM

1 posts, read 2,558 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I’ve been renting a house, here in Houston, for almost 4 years and recently had a conversation with the owner about purchasing it from them. We’ve discussed a price that is acceptable to both parties (assuming no issues with the house) but I was wondering if I could get some feedback on the process of buying direct from owner as we have agreed not to go through a realtor (for his benefit obviously, but he has reflected the saving in the purchase price).

The purchase price is contingent on everything being good with the house (which was remodeled 10 years ago) but we are the very early stages of the process and I wanted to outline my initial plan to see if I’ve missed anything…

Engage with a real estate attorney – I’d prefer to do this as I’ve not purchased a house before and we won’t be using a realtor. My question is – Do attorneys offer this service (from offer to closing and paperwork) as a set fee or % of sale? If set fee, what is a ballpark figure?

Having already lived in the house for 4 years, will a C.L.U.E report be of any use to me? I think it only goes back 5 years and I’ve not noticed any issues with the house

Inspection – I’ve read it’s better to hire a home inspector and separate termite inspector. Is this a good idea or waste of money?

Surveyed – Is it prudent to have the property surveyed to ensure no encroachments?