U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-08-2007, 12:27 PM

1,320 posts, read 2,468,092 times

Advertisements

Hello, I have a questions that need some answer or advise. First of all, I am new to home buying so exscuse my "duh" questions.

My wife and two kids are ready for a new built home. We do not plan on moving until this summer when the kids finish the school year. So, we were thinking to start looking for a community to build now rather than later. We have a combined annual income of 68k and we are looking for a home up to 170k. My credit score is 591, but mostly b/c of negative hospital bills.

1. Even though we do not have all the money for down payment now, can we still go to our bank for a preapproval mortage loan? I understand the down payment is not due until closing cost anyway.

2. Should we find the community where we want to live first and then try getting a preapproval loan?

3. With my credit score how much interest do you think I will get on the home mortage? I am thinking about 9%.

4. With that credit score is best to wait until it improves so my interest will not be so high. We can remain in an apartment another year if needed.

Thanks in advance. Any other advise is well appreciated.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-08-2007, 01:23 PM

1,133 posts, read 1,975,136 times