U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 10:50 PM

12 posts, read 12,452 times

Advertisements

I have been perusing these forums to get some insight into the Houston life and decided to just create an account and post on my own. I've been looking to get out of the Los Angeles area to another city for quite some time and finally received a job offer in Houston. Does anyone think this is crazy and that I would be making a huge mistake? I am a young professional--nothing tying me down here really (i.e. no kids or long-term relationship keeping me here). I enjoy big-city life but am tired of LA in particular. I know the weather will be a huge adjustment and also being quite far from the beach. I thought that the cost of living would be considerably less in Houston, but after doing some research that doesn't seem like it's really the case. This bothers me since I would be taking a pay cut for my job. Since I am still young, I am still into the bar scene and nightlife seems accessible in Houston so I'm not too concerned about that. But I also enjoy outdoor activities like hiking and running, but Houston's weather and flat topography seem like obstacles for such things. I also enjoy art and checking out different music scenes and watching sporting events; I don't think any of these would be difficult to find in Houston. Traffic seems comparable, which is unfortunate. I really wanted to live somewhere with a good public transportation system. I've heard the public transportation system in Houston is only effective in some areas