U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 01:35 AM

9 posts, read 13,544 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm a student and I'm moving out in about a month. I've picked out a couple of apartments in the Inner Loop area (which are all 13 minutes or closer to Houston's City College) so I can be closer to school.

Anyways, since I am moving by myself I do have a bit of concern for safety. Is Houston's growing crime rate something I should be worrying about if I live in the Inner Loop area? Are there some areas in the Inner Loop that I should be weary of? I'd rather just avoid certain areas to make sure I stay out of trouble.

Also, how is public transportation? I have a car, but I'd like to drive as little as possible to save money. I hear from some Houston-ites that public transportation is not very popular there.

Final question. Is it cheaper to just live in the outer loops and just drive to school? I'm trying to find an apartment that includes air conditioning in utilities so I can save a bit more money. And I mean, I figure I can save more money if I drive less. But if the apartments out of the Inner Loop are cheaper, I might just go there and commute.

Hope I don't come off as too stingy, but moving out in general is a big risk for me. But I'm positive I can make this work if I make sound decisions on where I live.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-20-2009, 01:45 AM

15,216 posts, read 28,950,055 times
Quote: