Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-13-2013, 11:15 AM

7 posts, read 18,892 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I've been offered a job in Moline,Il. I am a young professional relocating from NYC.
I am looking for a rental apartment in a safe area, that preferably has covered parking available.
I have searched and read the forums for information about Moline/Quadcities, and I still have a few questions.

1- How is it driving to work during the winter snow days, can a non AWD/4wheel drive car navigate the streets?

2- Is the cost of living on Il side, less than the Iowa side?

3- Any rental community recommendations would be much appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2013, 01:31 PM

11,535 posts, read 30,254,914 times
If you are from NYC and you ever drove in ice and snow you will do just fine. The only time you need a 4x4 is if you're in deep snow 8-16 inches. The trick is to add weight in the trunk of your vehicle... say an extra 300 pounds. It adds the extra rear traction you need. Some who have never driven in snow covered rural roads will argue. It works for me as I've it for years.