Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-28-2016, 10:47 AM

189 posts, read 310,389 times

Advertisements

I graduated from SIU Carbondale in 1989 and have many good memories from that school. At the time I felt it was one of the more affordable and underrated state universities.

After graduation I moved out of state. The few times I have heard bits and pieces about SIU, I heard there were many improvements made to the campus and student housing, but have also heard there was a decline in student enrollment and the adjacent strip is now a shadow of its former self. It seems like I was there at close to the end of the golden age for SIU.

Could anyone elaborate on the current condition of SIU, regarding enrolment, reputation, and any big plans for the future? Other comments about the city of Carbondale are also welcome.

Thanks,
Christopher
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-28-2016, 11:08 AM

2,694 posts, read 3,190,781 times
Carbondale's enrollment is down by about 4,000 to 5,000 students since its peak in the early 90s. SIUE's enrollment is currently at an all time high, however. In the St. Louis area the talk is that Edwardsville is on the rise and Carbondale is on the decline.

Old 07-28-2016, 08:19 PM

50 posts, read 72,025 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerseusVeil View Post