U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 04-23-2020, 07:48 AM
 
Location: 49th parallel
3,329 posts, read 1,909,810 times
Reputation: 6922

Advertisements

I've had issues with our wifi, maybe starting around the time of lockdown, or maybe just before, can't quite remember. Goes off in the morning around 8:30 or 9 (I'm pushing it now because it's about that time) and then is intermittent the rest of the day.

I've made umpteen calls to Xfinity, got a new modem/router, complained until I'm blue in the face; and just yesterday one of the tech guys at Xfinity said well why don't you get wired up, that feed is more reliable, etc.etc.

My question is - do people feel this is a "lockdown" problem and might go away, or will Comcast be forever offering service that is not reliable from now on and using this issue as an excuse? I've ordered my 50 foot of cable and my ethernet/USB connector and I'll be ok, but really - is this life from now on? Do I have to order another 50 feet for spouse and we're both tethered to the router forever? Will service actually be better? Should I continue to complain to Comcast? Is anyone else having this problem?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-23-2020, 08:12 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
14,096 posts, read 21,817,889 times
Reputation: 8855
That isn't an xfinity problem unless you're using their wifi modem/router. Are you? If not, what wifi router are you using?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 08:25 AM
 
Location: Free From The Oppressive State
26,041 posts, read 19,254,844 times
Reputation: 31011
Not only is wired up more reliable, it's more secure. If I have the opportunity, I always stay wired up.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 09:16 AM
 
Location: 49th parallel
3,329 posts, read 1,909,810 times
Reputation: 6922
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkf747 View Post
That isn't an xfinity problem unless you're using their wifi modem/router. Are you? If not, what wifi router are you using?
I have just been supplied with supposedly their latest and greatest dual wifi 803.11ac (whether or not it's really their latest and greatest I couldn't say)
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 09:17 AM
 
Location: 49th parallel
3,329 posts, read 1,909,810 times
Reputation: 6922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Three Wolves In Snow View Post
Not only is wired up more reliable, it's more secure. If I have the opportunity, I always stay wired up.
But, but, but...how do you use it in the comfy living room chair without tripping over wires hanging around all over the place?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 11:13 AM
 
13,820 posts, read 6,945,933 times
Reputation: 13331
This is one reason why I don’t use ISP-provided routers and WiFi. I’m stuck with my AT&T fiber router but I have it in Bridge mode so it’s just a pass through device. My routing/filtering and wireless are done by other devices.

Why not try a mesh network if your house is decent-sized or bigger?

Or keep WiFi and try powerline networking.

How many wireless/wired devices do you have sharing your bandwidth?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 01:59 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,119 posts, read 15,222,085 times
Reputation: 9207
I do the same as Mark and run a Velop Mesh network.
Wires ARE better but wirelss should absolutely be reliable for you. I assume you are using a laptop?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 03:02 PM
 
Location: 49th parallel
3,329 posts, read 1,909,810 times
Reputation: 6922
yep - 2 laptops, 1 Roku, 2 phones (for phoning mostly), very very occasionally 1 extra tablet (but I've forgotten the PW for it so guess we can really count that one out), and the new TV digital box seems to get unhappy when the internet goes out (even when not on Roku).

Will have to figure out all that other language in both your posts.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2020, 05:34 PM
 
13,820 posts, read 6,945,933 times
Reputation: 13331
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndcairngorm View Post
yep - 2 laptops, 1 Roku, 2 phones (for phoning mostly), very very occasionally 1 extra tablet (but I've forgotten the PW for it so guess we can really count that one out), and the new TV digital box seems to get unhappy when the internet goes out (even when not on Roku).

Will have to figure out all that other language in both your posts.
That’s really light usage. I have over 60 networked devices in my house. Unless you’re in an apartment building surrounded by WiFi you shouldn’t be having this problem.

How big is your house and what’s the distance between the router and the devices? And when the WiFi cuts out is it for everything?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-24-2020, 12:09 PM
KCZ
 
2,799 posts, read 1,621,649 times
Reputation: 7600
This is an Xfinity problem. I doubt spending money to rewire your devices is going to help, but before you go that route, get them to come out and test the signal where it comes into your house.


I've had intermittent service on all my devices for nearly 2 years, have made 80 or 100 calls to Comcast, replaced the router twice, the co-axial plates twice (newer house with newer wiring), had umpteen service service calls, worked my way up the chain of command from the lowest tier of technician to regional tech manager, had 30 diagnostic tests, all agree the problem is NOT with anything in my house, replaced the underground wiring to the nearest pole, still have the problem, all agree the problem is upstream somewhere, and now....


CRICKETS.


No additional evaluation or work on this problem will be provided. Some days I can't even read and answer 30 emails because the signal drops every 5 seconds.


COMCAST SUCKS.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top