U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old Today, 08:03 AM

2,503 posts, read 5,068,105 times

Advertisements

Any Facebook gurus on here? Can someone explain a notice I received: "Jane Doe asked to tag my photo."

I participate in a closed-member photography forum that permits us to share photo among members, but the "share" option is disabled, in an effort to control photo distribution. Other than that, I'm a novice lost in the FB world. I received the above message asking to tag one of my photos. It's a wildlife shot, with no people included. From what I've read, this tag request seems to be a work-around to the inability to share outside the group. Does that sound right? What am I missing? Thanks for your help.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old Today, 03:21 PM

13,135 posts, read 15,236,736 times
When I post on my timeline and tag my wife, her FB friends will see it in her feed.
There's a security feature that blocks this and notifies the person tagged so they can approve or deny the tag.
In the context of a private FB group, the person that tagged you is probably doing it as a way of giving you credit OR that person wants to make sure you see it. Is it your photo?

Old Today, 06:15 PM

2,503 posts, read 5,068,105 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Is it your photo?