U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 11-16-2009, 10:17 PM
 
479 posts, read 1,453,058 times
Reputation: 572

Advertisements

We replaced our computer, and can't find the security code. Is there somewhere on the computer that the router is connected to that has this information? Our router is a NetGear if that makes any difference.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-16-2009, 10:49 PM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
17,102 posts, read 35,604,210 times
Reputation: 14377
The manual for the router should have a procedure for resetting the security code to the factory default. This procedure would be described in the user manual and it probably involves pushing/holding a button on the router in some specific way. If you don't have the user manual, you can download it from the Netgear web site.

Before you go to the trouble of resetting the router, you might try using the factory default password (listed in the manual) on it, just in case it was never changed. If it turns out that it was never changed, you really should change it... unless you want neighbors and random passersby to try that password and use your wifi connection.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-16-2009, 10:53 PM
 
479 posts, read 1,453,058 times
Reputation: 572
Thanks. Sounds like you are exactly right, based on my reading of the website. We are still working on it, but it seems like we are making progress.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-16-2009, 10:56 PM
 
Location: Tricity
48,385 posts, read 69,401,145 times
Reputation: 110480
Bowie: my wireless router has a sticker with the factory default password.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-17-2009, 06:28 AM
 
10,838 posts, read 19,829,356 times
Reputation: 10416
Quote:
Originally Posted by elnina View Post
Bowie: my wireless router has a sticker with the factory default password.
Hopefully you changed that password.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-17-2009, 09:47 AM
 
Location: Tricity
48,385 posts, read 69,401,145 times
Reputation: 110480
Of course!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-17-2009, 11:16 AM
 
13,808 posts, read 24,877,038 times
Reputation: 14178
Type in 192.168.0.1 when hard wire connected to the router. Try username: "admin" and password as "password", sans quotes of course.

That is what mine (default) is/was. And my neighbors, which I inadvertently found out when I accidentally connected to their network instead!

(moral of that story is to change it)

Anyway, back to your problem, I don't have a new Netgear router (mine is around 8 years old) but I assume they haven't changed it much. Once in the 192.168.0.1 screen after typing in your username/password click on wireless settings and at the bottom will be your password for your internet.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-21-2013, 06:57 AM
 
1 posts, read 5,406 times
Reputation: 10
How to find wifi sequirity no
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-21-2013, 07:57 AM
 
10,838 posts, read 19,829,356 times
Reputation: 10416
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjib sahoo View Post
How to find wifi sequirity no
Read the thread you just posted to
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-21-2013, 02:46 PM
 
15,921 posts, read 18,840,574 times
Reputation: 7666
Back to factory default....

Many times it's nothing more than power off the router, hold the reset button in, turn the router on, wait 30 seconds, release the button...
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Internet
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top