U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa > Iowa City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-15-2009, 03:35 PM

21,917 posts, read 32,091,453 times

Advertisements

I'm a late 40-something gay WM apparently having my mid-life crisis and considering a move to Iowa City from my very urban, very different existence on the East Coast. I'm a Retail Store Manager (have been for several years) and the prior 15 years a Waiter/Bartender and Restaurant Manager.

Everything I've heard about Iowa City is pretty much what I'm after...a somewhat cosmopolitan/laidback/relatively inexpensive college town. I've heard how it's colder, quieter (yippee) and relatively isolated in terms of proximity to major cities. I have two concerns that are unanswerable thus far through research.

First is whether or not I'll be able to find a job there. With the state of the current economy aside, what are the job prospects for someone looking for a
job as a waiter/bartender with years of fine dining experience?

Secondly, I'm entertaining the thought of opening a small business (food oriented) once established and wonder what is the current state of the gourmet food-to-go scene in town.

Thanks...I know it's a lot to process but would appreciate any firsthand feedback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2009, 08:34 PM

267 posts, read 1,122,786 times
What you've heard about Iowa City seems pretty accurate and I think you would like it here. You'll have to come visit!