U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa > Iowa City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2009, 10:29 PM

3 posts, read 7,200 times

Advertisements

I have a bit of a dilemma. I used to live in South Korea, (my dad was in the Army and we were stationed there) and I lived there for 7 or maybe 8 years. I graduated from high school there, and was really used to traveling with public transportation and really used to the culture. I should also mention that I'm half korean as well, but that's not really relevant. Anyways after I graduated from high school there, and growing a great friendship with a group of friends and being in a band, I moved to Iowa. The original plan was for all of us to move to Texas. It took some time but everyone besides me eventually moved to Texas.

So, now I've been living in Iowa for 2 years now (Davenport) and all I've been doing is going to community college literally. My life for two years consisted of staying home and going to class, with occasional family events. You can imagine how boring and depressing of a life that is. I've had a really hard time making friends, and finding a job. However, I've just recently been accepted to the University of Iowa and visited the campus and downtown area and it seems really nice.