U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-12-2007, 09:43 AM

2 posts, read 4,958 times

Advertisements

Hello I am a Hispanic student transfering to Iowa State University from Florida International University in Miami and Im not sure what to expect when it comes to social interaction. I was reading the other threads and some people mentioned that iowans are not very receptive to newcomers. I hope this is not true because I was really looking forward to moving, but now Im a little scared. So anyone please let me know the real deal with that
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-12-2007, 10:16 AM

100 posts, read 516,156 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by angie111 View Post
Hello I am a Hispanic student transfering to Iowa State University from Florida International University in Miami and Im not sure what to expect when it comes to social interaction. I was reading the other threads and some people mentioned that iowans are not very receptive to newcomers. I hope this is not true because I was really looking forward to moving, but now Im a little scared. So anyone please let me know the real deal with that
I think those type of comments were in reference to small towns in Iowa (or small towns in general, for that matter). I have been to ISU, and you will be pleased. Ames is completely dominated by the university, so you will always be among peers. Since its a college town, people there are accustomed to strangers coming and going often. Keep in mind that not everyone there is from Iowa, so you won't be the only non-native!!