U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-24-2011, 09:56 AM

2 posts, read 2,840 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,
I live outside USA(south asia). In 2008 I have applied for immigrant visa and now I have got that. I am coming to the USA in February and I shall get green card after arriving. I am a high school graduate student. I shall apply to Iowa state university at Ames. I am sure that I shall be accepted there(I think that because my SAT and high school result is good) Now I have some confusions about Iowa.
Firstly, USA is completely new to me. I have searched over internet but I have found that job opportunity in Iowa is very low. This state faces several floods in a year and there is severe cold during winter.Is it true?
Secondly, I need part time job to cover my expenses. I can’t fully understand American accent. Will it be easy to get jobs if I come to Iowa?How much I shall be paid per hour and what types of works I should expect to get?

Thirdly, are people in Iowa(ames) amicable to other races? Is sharing apartment available there?
I am really curious about Iowa. Any reply will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-24-2011, 10:57 AM

4,759 posts, read 6,442,065 times