U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 08:30 PM

19 posts, read 67,910 times

Advertisements

Hello,

This is my first post on these forums!

I currently work in the field of Student Affairs in Higher Education, and am looking to change colleges (and geographical regions) soon. I have always heard such great things about Iowa and its small liberal arts colleges in rural settings -- Grinell, Central, Buena Vista, Cornell, Luther, Dordt, etc. -- and am drawn to them both professionally and personally.

I'm young -- not yet 30, love to be in small- to mid-sized towns, and am looking to start a small-town, old-fashioned American dream family soon where I can make a difference in the lives of college students.

I have only driven along I-80 through Iowa and I think I was in Dubuque at some point, so I'm not really sure what towns, schools to look at first. What advice would you have for somebody like me?

I appreciate any/all responses!

Thanks so much!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-13-2008, 10:19 PM

681 posts, read 2,835,529 times
I'm puzzled by the lack of responses to your question. Maybe people need a little more information about what kind of environment you're looking to work and live in before they make a suggestion.

A few questions:
1. How are you defining small and mid-sized towns. For example, would Dubuque be too big for you?