U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-03-2016, 04:20 PM

1 posts, read 1,796 times

Advertisements

Hello! I'm currently thinking of moving to somewhere in the US and Iowa is a strong contender on my list. I'm looking for recommendations of "big" cities and surrounding areas to move to. Here are some details to provide insight on what I'm looking for:

My husband and I are in our 20s. He's Puerto Rican and I'm black. We currently live in Indianapolis, Indiana.
I'm a preschool teacher and he has an interest in software development and would like to go to school for it. Since I'm a preschool teacher, I'd like to live near a bigger city with a lot of child care centers for more opportunities. I'd rather work at a more pricey center where the quality of care and teaching is high. Right now I'm making $11 an hour and my husband makes around the same to a little more at a call center (different pay check every week because of bonuses). He would need to be able to find a decent paying job for us to be able to live in a 2 bedroom apartment (we plan on having a child in the near future). We would need to live near a college or university that he can attend to go to school for software development. A campus with online classes would be an alternative too. Speaking of, is there a good market for tech related jobs?