Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Jacksonville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-19-2012, 08:43 AM

14 posts, read 44,864 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! I'm so happy I stumbled upon this forum and hope you all can help me out. This summer I am planning to move to Jacksonville and begin teaching at a school either in the Westside or Northside. This is my first time ever moving (I've lived in Richmond, VA in the same house all my life), so I have some questions about the area.

First, will it be feasible for me to rent an apartment on my own on my teacher's salary? ($37,000)

Second, I've read that the southside and beach area of the city are decent/safe places to live. Will I be able to find affordable housing there? (Studio or one bedroom) And how long/stressful will the commute to the north or westside be?

Third, what are the approximate costs for things like utilities and groceries? This will help me to create a budget.

Fourth, how is the shopping/dining in the city? I'm used to having the big department and chain stores as well as cute boutiques, vintage/thrift, and natural food shops. I also like having access to both chain restaurants and ethnic/smaller restaurants.

Fifth, what is the racial makeup of the town? I am a young African American. Will I feel uncomfortable there? Are there any Hispanics there?

Sixth, what are some fun things to do there for a single, early 20 year old? I do not go to clubs and I do not drink. Are there good museums, libraries, movie theaters etc there? Are the beaches clean and safe?