U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Jacksonville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-02-2019, 09:36 AM

2 posts, read 1,132 times

Advertisements

Hello,
We are looking to relocate to Jacksonville in the next year and a half. Empty nesters in our 50's and not ready for retirement yet....unfortunately..... Husband will work uptown for B of A and I am a teacher. Want a golf course community. So much to choose from and need some advice. Want to stay in the 300's for a home. Thanks!!
Quick reply to this message

Old 11-02-2019, 05:25 PM

4,274 posts, read 12,935,222 times
There are a few golf course communities as you've probably found. I can only speak of Eagle Harbor in Fleming Island ... lived there until 2012 (ha...then went to Gastonia in your neck of the woods ... back in Jax now though). We really liked EH. Very friendly, properties are well-kept, good golf course, nice driving range, restaurant (open to public) has gone through some changes, tennis courts, 3 pools. Access to amenities are included in HOA fees, but I don't know what the golf membership fee is. I believe most properties in EH have CCD fees. The commute to downtown Jax could be a bit of a task going by way of Hwy 17 all the way to I-10/I-95 interchange or going I-295 over the Buckman Bridge and up I-95 (less desirable). As well, it would depend upon where you would be teaching. General rule of thumb is to live on the same side of the St. Johns River as where you work (although rules are made to be broken of course).

Old 11-03-2019, 07:02 AM

6,786 posts, read 7,492,239 times