Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Jacksonville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-16-2020, 05:20 AM

3,337 posts, read 7,092,400 times

Advertisements

It's humorous when people are disappointed that Jacksonville isn't like (insert city). I'm a lifelong Jacksonville resident and one thing I've come to expect that Jacksonville is what it is. It's not for everyone and that's cool. That being said, folks should stop moving to Jacksonville expecting it to be like wherever they come from. People should research Jacksonville thoroughly before they decide to move here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-16-2020, 09:15 AM

78 posts, read 74,479 times
Agreed, totally.

You think Jax is getting bad? try living here in the Tampa Bay region and down to Ft Myers! Many family members and friends (who are natives and/or very very longtime southern residents, etc) are becoming irate with the recent, wild migration of bad actors and personalities especially from places like Chicago, Greater Baltimore/DC, NYC (Bronx, Manhattan, Long Island), Providence and Boston....and don't me started about NJ,

They come down here actually expecting the same cultural things, shopping, FOOD, politics, entertainment, etc that they ruined for themselves in those other cities! It's truly offensive to natives of Florida.

Now, hell, I even have knowitall neighbors from California (the absolute worst)....and Seattle

On the other hand, we have fine adaptive transplants from Wisconsin, KY, Iowa, W-VA, Maine, Texas, LA, TN, southern IL, and even Canada.