Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-07-2015, 12:52 PM

16 posts, read 13,221 times

Advertisements

With graduation right around the corner I'm getting stressed more and more with the job hunting. I've had several phone interviews and 2 in person interviews (same employer) that was relatively close (1 1/2 hour drive) with nothing promising thus far. My degree is in Computer Information Systems, so I'm looking for entry-level IT work.

I live in WV and I know I'm going to have to relocate most likely out of state, which I have no problem with, I've actually been looking forward to it. I still currently live with with parents and so does my GF who will be moving with me. We both work at Walmart so we can pretty move anywhere there's a Walmart and we could transfer to it. So we could have jobs while I'm still searching for something better but at the same time we'd both be making under $10/hour in the meantime.

Would this be a good idea to get to a better location with more jobs or would this be a bad call? My fear is either a) I still can't find a job in my field or b) I finally land a job but it's somewhere completely away from where we moved and we'd be stuck where we're at due to apartment lease and/or just insufficient funds to move again.

Any thoughts/opinions/experience is greatly appreciated, I need all the advice I can get.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-07-2015, 01:02 PM

111 posts, read 179,246 times
Hi Steve,