Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-02-2015, 01:17 AM

4 posts, read 8,189 times

Advertisements

Hello..

i got a job offer contingent on the background check.
I am a recent grad with only one real job which I held for two years.
for this new job, HR asked for 7 years of employment history which obviously I didn't have.
so they forced me to put my research experience at a university as my second most employer.
it was an unpaid and volunteer research thing as a research assistant and I worked for a professor not necessarily for the school.
on the job application, I put the professor's name and his contact info (his office phone number)
i called the number to let him know they (a 3rd party screening company) might call him..only to find out that he is not even in the u.s. anymore and took a position at a university in a different country.
i know it's my fault that I made a wrong assumption he would still be there and that I didn't keep in touch with him..but does anyone think this would be a problem? Perhaps leading to the offer rescinded?
The only proof I have is that I have a paper published with my name on it as one of the authors for the research.
Other than that the screening company probably can't verify anything..
I now have the professor's contact info (school email address, phone and fax number) at the new university..a little too late!!!
Am I screwed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-02-2015, 01:23 AM

24,488 posts, read 41,150,886 times