Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-04-2016, 02:10 PM

6,160 posts, read 5,705,622 times

Advertisements

I am worried that my short stay at previous jobs will affect future job opportunities. The jobs have been in different states and cities. But, it was unavoidable. I'm young, but employers probably won't know this unless they consider graduation dates.

1) Worked as a student worker for my alma mater for two years in the registrar's office. Because I graduated, I could no longer work for the university. I was getting my master's anyways.

2) Worked as a graduate instructor for two years while working on my Master's. Found a high school teaching job right after graduation.

3) Taught high school for two years, then decided it wasn't for me. Moved to another state for a job back in higher education.

4) Been at my current job for a few months, but I will probably move back closer to family in two years.

Has anyone dealt with this before? Could anyone in HR comment on how this looks?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2016, 01:35 PM

12,103 posts, read 23,262,756 times
A lot of people don't consider two years at a job as being particularly short term. Leave off job #1. Unless you are trying to get a teaching job or back in higher ed, leave off job #2. Your professional work experience started with graduation and job #3.

Old 07-05-2016, 07:51 PM

856 posts, read 1,051,495 times
Exclamation Short Jobs on Resume

Quote:
Originally Posted by lepoisson View Post