U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-07-2016, 10:29 AM

12,717 posts, read 12,375,487 times

Advertisements

I currently work in the public utilities industry and recently applied for a job in the healthcare industry due to the location, benefits, and high pay of the company. The job is similar to what I currently do now (project management & business analysis). I've been selected for an interview so they obviously saw something liked but I have some questions.

I've never worked in healthcare so it'd be an entirely new experience. I match many of the job posting qualifications/skills like can do X, Y, Z etc. But under preferred they list someone with healthcare experience and then they list out specific healthcare tasks and systems they'd like the person to be knowledgeable about.

I obviously have no experience in their processes or systems or even terminology so how would you go about answer some of the questions like: Why do you want to work in healthcare / for this company? How would you handle getting familiar with the new industry (terminology, processes, systems, etc...)?

Also, how would I best convince them I'd be able to pick up the new industry and all that went with it? I don't want to mess this up!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-12-2016, 11:45 AM

My interview is coming up this Wednesday, any tips? I've read stuff online but I'm interested in hearing some actual first hand suggestions, advice, etc...

Old 09-12-2016, 01:38 PM