Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-11-2020, 11:08 PM

905 posts, read 1,104,287 times

Advertisements

Hey all,

(Warning - a frustrated/occasionally emotional post - please skip to the 4th paragraph if you're just curious about the questions in the thread title).

A quick background on me: I'm a semi-recent graduate (although that status is close to fading away by now) who unfortunately, is still looking for his first "real" job from school. I've been stuck slinging it out in manual labor/warehousing jobs (although what I do is a bit more specialized) - actually the same job I was doing while in college. Unfortunately, because I needed to work full time to support myself while in school, I was unable to do much in the way of internships, because they would have conflicted with the work schedule. I should emphasize this point, because it was either keep working and keep a roof over my head, or go homeless in the process of interning for free...it was not a choice, because I have no local support network.