U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Kansas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-13-2009, 08:21 PM

97 posts, read 169,606 times

Advertisements

My husband and I (Mid 40's) will be relocating to the Fort Riley area (from NY) soon to assist our daughter-in-law while our son serves in Iraq. What is the job market like? I am a recent Medical Assistant graduate and my husband has 30 years experience in residential construction. We need to secure jobs and locate a nice area to live. We have been to Abilene but would like to be closer to the base. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-14-2009, 02:33 PM

71 posts, read 225,166 times
Hi,

Here's information on Manhattan, the largest city in the area (51,000): www.manhattan.org. Here's info on jobs in Manhattan: Manhattan Jobs - NationJob.com Careers, Work & Employment opportunities in Manhattan, Kansas.

Best wishes!

Old 09-15-2009, 11:41 AM

Thank you KSUgrad. What do you know about the Junction City area? What about the weather? I understand it gets very cold. What about the liklihood of tornadoes?

Old 09-15-2009, 12:10 PM

71 posts, read 225,166 times
Junction City has about 22,000 people. City of Junction City link: City of Junction City, Kansas. Junction City Convention & Visitor's Buearu site: Geary County CVB - Official Website. Weather.com Manhattan weather averages: Average Weather for Manhattan, KS - Temperature and Precipitation

Best wishes!

Old 09-15-2009, 09:33 PM

48 posts, read 312,386 times