U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Kentucky
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-03-2016, 10:44 AM

1,098 posts, read 1,308,751 times

Advertisements

I've heard some pretty bad things about Kentucky, to be honest. But I've always had a romanticized view of the state because of my love of history and my ancestral connections there. I've been to Covington once or twice as an adult but haven't been anywhere else since I was very small.

I'm studying to get certified as a high school teacher, and am hoping to find somewhere warmer (but not too warm, my wife hates extreme heat--but not as much as bitter winters) but still within driving distance of family here in mid-Michigan. Kentucky has a similar cost of living to where I live now, but what are some other comparisons and differences between the two states? Aside from Louisville where the density is a lot higher than I'd prefer.

Obviously it's a general question so I would expect generalized answers. I don't know exactly what I'm looking for, but I know there's a lot of people who have moved between the two states and might have useful observstions. Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 06-03-2016, 11:35 AM

1,070 posts, read 2,498,824 times
Very similar, geographically. Rolling green hills, horse farms. Michigan has colder, snowier winters, but Kentucky still sees all four seasons.