U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Kingsport - Johnson City - Bristol
 [Register]
Kingsport - Johnson City - Bristol The Tri-Cities area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-12-2007, 08:35 PM

3 posts, read 7,077 times

Advertisements

My wife and I are tired of the "rat race" in the Baltimore/DC metro area. I am an IT Professional (Telecom Manager) and the wife works as a small grocery manager. When the house sells I'll pretty much be able to pay cash for a house in that area (at least that's what we are hoping). We are looking for a simple 3 bedroom rancher on about an acre of land. Our two oldest are in the military, the youngest is 16 and will be moving on to college shortly, so local schooling is only an issue for a short while. I think most of the houses we priced seem to be in the 110k to 150k range.

Is that area a good area for a two 40 yr olds with 1 teenage son? I spend what spare time I can either hunting (all 3 seasons) or bass fishing. I have a bass boat, are boat registration fees high in TN? Overall is TN a sportsmen friendly state? My wife is more into decorating the yard and arts and crafts, so that probably won't be an issue for her.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-12-2007, 09:18 PM

7,281 posts, read 19,578,591 times