Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Knoxville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 01:48 PM

17 posts, read 49,466 times

Advertisements

Hey,

We're both 20. I'm currently a licensed EMT. I've been looking to relocate (politics of Ca drive me insane, along with the overflow of illegal immigration and high cost of living). I was told by an Uncle in NC that Knoxville is an awesome city, and I would have to say it sounds nice from what I've read on the forums. I do a lot of outdoors activities, sounds like there's a lot within a short drive of Knoxville.

Few questions:
What's the job market like right now? I see a lot of positions open at the hospitals and ambulance companies for EMTs. I know in Ca there's about 600 EMT's just in my area that do not have jobs, is Knoxville the same?

How's the tornado frequency and general weather?

Housing market, growing, slowing, crashing?

Hard to find a place to rent?

What's UT's reputation, my girlfriend will be attending there for a degree in Veterinarian medicine. Any good community college's near by? I saw Roanne, but it didn't look like they had an applicable campus in Knoxville.

Are Californians still despised?

What parts of town should be avoided?

How's traffic in comparison to CA? Our's is almost 24/7

How's the economy there, is it taking a huge hit, or is it more along the lines of NC where it isn't falling to rapidly.

That's all I can think of as of now, any other information you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Andrew