U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-13-2008, 09:37 AM

309 posts, read 849,576 times

Advertisements

I am seriously considering a move from Memphis to Las Vegas. I'm a soon to be divorced female baby boomer. I would like to land a job in education (adult education or elementary) or counseling. I'm also a military vet. My most recent experience has been in real estate but I'm not interested in doing that in Vegas. I heard they need teachers there. I have a Masters degree and 10 years of teaching experience. My question is how are teacher salaries and would I be able to support myself on a teacher or counselor's salary in Vegas?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2008, 11:02 AM

4,032 posts, read 7,640,393 times
You had better make sure you can get a license first. I moved to Vegas from Memphis with licensure in Tennessee and Arkansas for special education and administration to take a job in CCSD. Even with doctorate in special education administration and supervision, the state of Nevada wouldn't issue me a license. I wound up taking 18 hours. It happens to a lot of people when the go to CCSD.

Old 09-13-2008, 11:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by photobuff42 View Post