Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-06-2009, 11:37 AM

17 posts, read 27,069 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I think this is a reworked version of a "how do I move to Vegas" thread, but here goes.
I am from Minnesota though since 2007 I have lived in Fort Lauderdale, FL. I am a finance professional and recently completed my MBA here in Florida. I have been offered a job for one of the entertainment groups in the finance dept. I have some reservations/concerns about moving to LV which I hope folks can help me resolve.

1. I am a 30 year old married professional w/o kids: Where would a good place for my wife (also 30) and I be to look for a rental property in LV or surrounding areas? The assignment is in Las Vegas, so I don't want to commute a crazy distance. We would buy eventually, but not at first-budget rent of around $1400/mo currently in FL.

2. I am not sure about LV; do people enjoy all of the goings on in Vegas who live there? I now live in a condo at the beach in Lauderdale, so we have a pretty laid back lifestyle here-except on the S. Florida roads. Does that correspond with life in Vegas kind of minus the Ocean of course? My wife is really unsure about the move to LV; desert vs. ocean, crime...etc.

3. LV is definitely attractive as a lower-cost alternative to S. Florida which has crippling insurance and property taxes. Is the lower cost a perception or a reality for those who might know S. Florida?