U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Lehigh Valley
 [Register]
Lehigh Valley Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-13-2010, 08:46 PM

1,030 posts, read 3,106,139 times

Advertisements

I was born, and raised in Wilmington, DE.

I've lived in Philly for the past 3-4 years.

Being a traveling insurance broker, I have been working in Lehigh and Northampton counties lately.

Although Allentown is nice, I have to say that the area in general seems to have very untrusting, skeptical people. It's a shame, because almost every other city in PA I've worked in (I don't work in Philly or Chester,) the people have been nice and friendly, and welcoming.

I have been working in Bethlehem, the Allentown Suburbs, and Easton, and the people there seem to be real "tough" people.

My question is: Has the Lehigh Valley always been like this, or is this a recent change? I realize that ABE is bigger than Reading, Pottstown, Lancaster, etc, but are these urban bi-products of Allentown itself, or is it the combined influence of Philadelphians and New Yorkers?

I'm not downing Lehigh, but I just would have assumed the people were a little more laid back, and friendly than they are, considering how far they are from Philly and New York.

Wilmington, for example, has the same "tough" attitudes, and lots of untrusting people, but I always accounted that to the point that it is directly connected to Philadelphia by dense suburbs.