U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > United Kingdom > London
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-12-2012, 09:32 PM

2 posts, read 11,301 times

Advertisements

Hello Everybody

Our family of four, my husband, me and two kids 3 and 5 with the four pets: dog (golden retriever) and three cats considering/thinking to move to London...

My husband got a proposition to move to London, UK, he received an offer for 62.5K-65K pounds per year. It's only him who will be working, while I have to study first I assume (I'm an accountant) to find a job.

We are planing to rent an apartment near his office in the Twickenham and probably safe on the transportation, or rent a little bit far and pay for the public transportation about 200 pounds per month.

The 62.5K-65K pounds per year will be comfortable to live in London for the family with two kids?
How easy to find the school for the kids?
Probably you know who much could cost us the insurance for all pets? It's necessary to have?

Thank you
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-13-2012, 01:01 AM

4,663 posts, read 7,672,235 times
Twickenham isnt really in the city and is slightly cheaper than central London. It's still pricey though - expect to pay at least £1200 per month for a 2 bed apt, probably more. You can certainly do it but it won't be comfortable on that income alone.