U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Long Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-17-2012, 12:57 PM

27 posts, read 28,650 times

Advertisements

I'm in need of some advice from some people who know. Here is some background information. My wife and I are in our low 30's and are trying to have a baby. Im a NYC cop and make about 112k average and my wife makes about 35k and she also works in the city near penn station.

We have about 150k to put down on a house. We are looking at places in commack and the surrounding area that are in the high 300k to low 400k range with taxes under 10k. We have seen a few places we like but I'm just a little nervouse about expenses. I'm also trying to figure out if it would be worth it for my wife to keep her job after having a baby.

We both have zero debt so I think we are in good shape. We live in bayside queens now and have a great commute. I'm aware of the fact that the train ride from deer park is about an hour and would cost aroun $300 for my wife and I ride the railroad free.

Any input, comments, or thoughts are greatly appreciated.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-17-2012, 01:00 PM

3,686 posts, read 8,163,306 times
Stay in Bayside

Old 01-17-2012, 01:02 PM

13,166 posts, read 15,500,204 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyJabs View Post