U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Long Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-27-2008, 11:58 AM

4 posts, read 19,499 times

Advertisements

I'm a first time buyer... born and bred in Massapequa and then I’ve been moving around for the past 5 or 6 years, but now I’m ready to settle down and get myself a house to start working on over the next few years and all that fun stuff.

So I’m looking in the 200K range and obviously my options are very limited. I’m trying to avoid apartments if I can get in a workable house, but that being said, this house is on a huge plot of land in Deer Park and is right on the school border of Wyandanch. The neighborhood changes rather drastically as you move west on Nicholls road from DPA to Straight Path.

From what I understand, Deer Park is a decent school district which is great by me as I'm single and have no kids. Schools only concern me in that they affect resale.

I guess my question is what is the general consensus on homes that lay on the border of a less desirable school district? Is it significantly more of an investment risk then something that might be 4 or 5 blocks away from the border?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-27-2008, 12:06 PM

1,900 posts, read 6,436,995 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by ny.phill View Post
Is it significantly more of an investment risk then something that might be 4 or 5 blocks away from the border?
Yes.