U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-09-2011, 12:06 AM

35 posts, read 52,603 times

Advertisements

I'm a 20-year-old guy from Pittsburgh (well, 20 minutes north of it) and I plan to move to LA next month. I'm a serious musician and I want to be around other musicians my age, and it looks like Echo Park/Los Feliz would have some studio apartments for rent within the $700-900 range. I plan to work and/or attend LA City College at first, and eventually apply to USC and UCLA, and eventually enter the music industry, not necessarily as a musician. If there is no music industry by then, I'll figure it out at that point. I'm smart, I have parents who could support me if needed, and I'm great at pinching pennies, so I don't want to hear it from jaded LA-ers about the cost of living. Pittsburgh has a great cost of living! ...and no music scene, and the second-oldest population in the country, and strict liquor/weed laws, and terrible weather, and limited job growth, and pollution on par with LA

Should I drive up and down each street looking for "for rent" signs in order to find apartments, or is it better to do online? I've been messing around with a site called PadMapper. Is the idea to drive up and down every single street or what?

Are there specific neighborhoods to avoid in this area, that I wouldn't be able to notice just by driving down the street and going "Hm, those gentlemen are all wearing the same color shirt, and appear to be carrying guns"?