U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 11:29 AM

45 posts, read 68,021 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I am new to the US, so I don't know how common is this, but let me tell you the story and then you'll tell me what you think. I arrived 3 months ago, got an account in a very well known bank (named after this continent), with a debit card and a credit card.

Ok, everything fine until about 3 weeks ago, when I see on my credit card a couple of fraudulent transactions of about $250 on a gas station in a place in California where I've never been. All right, they cancel my card and send me a new one. Now the week next to that one, same thing happens with my debit card, a fraudulent transaction on San Diego, definitively never been there, so again, they cancel my debit card and send me a new one.

Now, yesterday I got a call from the bank saying that there's unusual activity with my credit card. They say 3 transactions of about $300 in total happened at 3 different gas stations at very distant places in California (I guess that's how they realized there was something suspicious.. there's also no need to say that I've never been to one of those places). So, ok, 3rd time, 3rd cancelled card, waiting for my new one.