U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 03:45 PM

1,059 posts, read 1,111,749 times

Advertisements

Before everyone flames me, I am a mid-twenties professional who is looking for a next move after living in DC, Baltimore and NYC.

I have a few interviews in LA and I was just browsing through craigslist for apartments and looking at other COL measures and was surprised how cheap LA was compared to DC, NYC, and SF for comparable housing and wages aren't that much different, atleast for me.

Is there any particular reason? I can understand the bay and NYC being more expensive, but was thoroughly shocked that it just seems that DC is way more expensive than LA (minus the ultra ultra high-end 100 million dollar market).

Is there something I am missing or not taking into account for LA COL?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-14-2011, 04:07 PM

10,087 posts, read 13,535,786 times
Where in LA are you looking?

It's a huge city / area... some places are very expensive, some are relatively inexpensive. But you typically get what you pay for when it comes to QOL.

Old 12-14-2011, 04:57 PM

1,059 posts, read 1,111,749 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by munchitup View Post
Where in LA are you looking?

It's a huge city / area... some places are very expensive, some are relatively inexpensive. But you typically get what you pay for when it comes to QOL.
Downtown, Loz Feliz, culver city, and santa monica.