Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-26-2012, 02:04 PM

12 posts, read 90,766 times

Advertisements

I'm a Florida college student in my third year studying advertising/public relations and psychology. I really hope to one day have a career doing public relations either in a PR firm that works with film/entertainment clients, or in-house at a film studio. I was just wondering if anyone on this board works at a firm along the lines of film or PR and can give me some tips on how to get my best foot forward to achieve this goal.

What can I do to set myself on the right track as of now as a college student? I am doing internships right now in the fields of PR and marketing but its difficult to find film companies in Florida to intern with.

Has anyone else had the experience of moving out to a big city after college to find their dream job? I know that the film/entertainment and PR fields are really competitive and popular, and the thought of it is pretty daunting.

Also I've always been attracted to life in New York City, but I know that film concentrates around Los Angeles, so of course I would be willing to go wherever my career takes me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-27-2012, 03:07 AM

129 posts, read 315,545 times