U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 03:02 AM

3 posts, read 2,989 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,

I have some questions about bikes and public transport and hope to get some answer.
I am a student from Europe and will move to LA in July for doing an internship for three months in Culver City. I have a driver's license, but I'm really out of practise - didn't use it for years now - therefore I was wondering, if I can make it without a car... I am looking for a flat in the near of my work, so that I could use a bike. Is it common to use bikes in LA? Are there kind of bicycle ways I could also use for bigger distances? Is there a possibilty to either rent one for three months or buy a cheap one? And concerning public transport: would it really be completely impossible to use it in Culver City to go to work or to downtown LA?? And if yes, is it expensive to go to downtown by taxi?

I hope someone can help me

Thanks,
Kathy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-16-2012, 04:50 AM

4,020 posts, read 2,935,371 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by kat25 View Post
I was wondering, if I can make it without a car...
For three months you probably could but it won't be pleasant. L.A. is not a street corner store culture, so buying groceries may end up being a chore without a car. Still, I have, very recently, spent a month and a half in Rotterdam and shopped at stores halfway across town and was perfectly able to walk or use public transport, so it can be done.
Quote: