U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 04:20 PM

15 posts, read 66,494 times

Advertisements

The other day I was headed west on Santa Monica and needed to turn left at La Brea. As people in LA know, you often end up having to make lefts on red because of traffic. I've been driving here for 3 years and have never had a problem at all. Well, the guy in front of me was kind of passive and not pulled up as far as he should've been. I was right behind him, and he finally began turning as the yellow turned to red. Obviously I'm too far in the intersection to back up at that point, so i have to follow him through the light. Of course, a dimwit going straight decides to run the red light and we both have to brake. As I'm finally getting to turn, still right behind the guy, I swear I saw a flash (seeming to come from the light on our side) go off. It very well could have been my imagination, as it was a bright, sunny day.... but I'm really worried now.

I started searching online later and read something that said if you were in the intersection when the light turned red, you're fine. However, i don't know if I was ALL the way out, just that I was too far to back up and wait for the next light. I was comforted reading that LA unambigiously ended their red light ticket program in March... and then I realized that's for the city of LA and I was in West Hollywood! D: So confused! Please help! I can't have anything going on my driving record/insurance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message