U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-29-2007, 09:22 PM

258 posts, read 1,425,267 times

Advertisements

I graduated from film school in florida a year or so ago. I've been wanting to move to ca for the past 5 years but didn't get accepted to a college there. After graduation and now with a degree in film I'm still considering the move. Originally from missouri, went to school in florida. I've been reading all the posts on la and you get so many mixed responses and opinions. If I'm wanting to work in film (the production side) is it that hard to find a job? And is it even harder to move up? I love the idea of working in film and travelling around to make movies. All I keep hearing is that its who you know, not what you know. The advice I've been given is to try and get a pa job even if it doesn't pay much and try to work my way up. But if I'm going to move to la I need to be making some decent money to survive out there. I had some friends that lived out there for some time, but now live in slo and they told me you don't want to live there unless your work in the film or music business. So is it that hard to get into the industry?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-30-2007, 11:34 AM

61 posts, read 240,082 times
i work as a production/casting assistant on a freelance basis. it works out well for me because i can choose to work when i want to or take time off when i want to pursue other things.