Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-12-2014, 09:23 PM

3 posts, read 3,521 times

Advertisements

I have read a couple of the recent thread and found the community in this forum to be very helpful. I recently received an offer to go to LA for work and have about 30 days to figure it out. Here's a basic info of me and what I am looking for in the areas. Any suggestions would be really appreciated!

I am a young female professional, and the work is downtown LA. I would like to not live downtown as I heard it was crowded. I would prefer public transportation as commute to work (although I would still have a car). And I would like a safe, affordable neighborhood for my first year. A lot of people in this forum suggested Pasadena (so are many of my coworkers). However, is it unrealistic for a budget of about $1,600 to stay around the Old Town Area of Pasadena for a 1 bedroom?

Also, I researched Glendale and South Pasadena neighborhoods as well. Having never been to LA or any of the neighborhoods, the impression I got is that these two places are a tad cheaper than old town pasadena, but does not have a lot of activities/night life? (If this is the only drawback, it won't be a deal breaker for me at all as I do not drink.)

I would also like to have a dog in the near future, specifically a German Shepherd. Is it almost impossible to find an apartment that would allow medium-large size dogs?