U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-16-2018, 10:50 PM

2 posts, read 2,876 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

We currently live in Victorville, CA (the desert on the way to Vegas). I am a ride share driver (uber and lyft), so moving closer to LA will give me more work than what I am getting out here. Also, my daughter is a dancer in LA so we are looking forward to a shorter commute for that, which is 2 hours one way right now. I would like to be close enough to LA, but not in the city. Close to shops, and things to do ( I have 3 daughters, all under 19 y/o) We are looking to move into an apartment, at least initially for a year or 2. We have looked in Pasadena, and also over in Woodland Hills, which we really loved. My daughter mainly dances in the evening and usually in or around Studio City area, so we would be driving into the city from 4-6pm and leaving to go back home from 8-10pm. How bad is the commute from Woodland Hills during the hours? Any other places a little outside of LA that are nice areas? We are looking at apartment rent under $3000, hopefully!

TIA!
Quick reply to this message

Old 07-23-2018, 11:47 AM

2,964 posts, read 3,308,688 times
Try Sylmar, Santa Clarita, Castaic or the west side of Palmdale.

Old 07-23-2018, 03:46 PM

181 posts, read 134,517 times
You have a nice budget. You could rent in Santa Clarita which is a great area and be very close to Studio City. Traveling down there at 4 wouldn’t be a big issue.