U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-23-2019, 10:50 AM

12 posts, read 4,402 times

Advertisements

I am moving from a busy Atlanta. I am in my late 40s and spouse retired. I am very curious about how hard it is to live in California. I am a Registered Nurse and hoping to move there this summer. I see lovely neighborhoods outside LA to live that are 35-55 miles away from the hospital I am looking to work. It looks like they are buliding the neighborhoods outide and apparently people are excepting to live a long distance. I will be working a morning shift.
Is this a difficult mile zone....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-23-2019, 11:26 AM

1,990 posts, read 1,257,296 times
Where do you want to work? It would help if you give that information so we can help you figure out where to live.

Old 01-23-2019, 01:27 PM

8,452 posts, read 11,921,833 times
Not only do you need to specific which hospital you're looking at, but also the neighborhoods you like. Your budget for renting or buying and for how big and what type of place would help.

Old 01-23-2019, 03:06 PM

3,874 posts, read 2,748,814 times
I would definitely not move more than 25 miles away from anywhere I'll be working. As an RN you can get a job anywhere in any town just about. I would look closer to where you want to stay. Also RNs make more in California by far than any other state so that should be a huge pay raise.

Old 01-23-2019, 05:30 PM

4,796 posts, read 3,431,805 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoCon99z View Post