U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-23-2008, 01:49 PM

5 posts, read 12,467 times

Advertisements

Greetings from Portland, Oregon.

I'm in the process of looking for new position in education. I am a single professional female (early 40s) and have been invited for an interview in Santa Monica next week. I've lived most of my life in the Pacific Northwest - Portland for the past 8 years. I really like the laid back lifestyle here and am wondering what life will be like there. One of the possible perks is over a substantial increase in pay and a great job opportunity. When I think of So. California - I'd want to move to a place that I'll enjoy my work but also lifestyle that is low-key. Let me know your thoughts. I've also applied for a lower pay position in Everett, WA and Vancouver Island. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2008, 05:07 PM

1,754 posts, read 6,231,382 times
Comparing Washington or Oregon, your cost of living in Southern California could greatly outweigh the increase in salary. And low-key lifestyle in LA is also considerably different than the low-key lifestyle in the PNW. Your decision should, first and foremost, be based on how much you'll be able to afford for an acceptable 1BR apartment within a reasonable distance to your school.

Old 05-23-2008, 05:36 PM

17,713 posts, read 16,460,701 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canada66 View Post
I'm in the process of looking for new position in education.