U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-25-2008, 04:29 PM

7 posts, read 15,935 times

Advertisements

Hello all!

Please be kind to me, I'm a newbie

My husband and I are currently miserable in London England and want to move back to the States as soon as our lease is up on our flat in October (hopefully the economy will improve enough by then to provide us both with jobs). I am a native of Ohio, and I met my husband while he was studying in the States, so he is quite keen on returning to somewhere less horrible than London. Now don't get me wrong, London has many many wonderful things: tons of history, museums, pubs, expensive shops, famous people, etc, but the cost of living makes enjoying any of this on a regular basis prohibitive. It can sometimes literally be a choice between rent or food. Not for us, thank goodness, but we are really struggling more than we would like, and it is so uber-competitive here that we are really finding it hard to find a job that will pay us enough to provide a decent standard of living. To explain, imagine living in Chicago or New York on roughly a $19,000 income for 2 people! That's how tough it is here! Employers want 5 or 6 years of experience and are only paying you slightly above the poverty level! It's sickening, and we want out!

What we're looking for is this: