Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Los Angeles
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 10:47 PM

7 posts, read 48,534 times

Advertisements

I am 29 years old. I have been working in the film industry for the last 9 years. Recently I have decided that this is not what I want to do with the rest of my life. I've always wanted to become a firefighter. It is something I could be proud of. My background will show (in all seriousness) experimental drug use when I was younger; as in light marijuana use in high school (over 10 yrs. ago), cocaine twice (over three years ago), ecstasy 4-5 times over 7 years ago, and lsd once over 7 years ago. Not proud of it, but it is what I did and it is in the past. Today, I am engaged and have a 7 month old daughter. I took the la city online preliminary background application and it told me that I wouldn't qualify to become a firefighter. Does anyone else have any experience with this or know how I should proceed? I need advice, any help or am I just SOL? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-11-2008, 02:45 AM

7,087 posts, read 8,636,118 times
Do you have to admit to drug use like that when you apply? haha.

It's interesting you are switching from film to firefighting as a desired career, I'm sorry to hear film didn't work out. I am pursuing film, but I have to be honest one of the backup professions I'd consider is law enforcement, haha, just because it'd be something interesting at least and the pay wouldn't be bad all things considered.

Old 11-11-2008, 04:38 AM