U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Louisiana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-06-2008, 05:14 PM

1,938 posts, read 6,465,425 times

Advertisements

I am a CO sped teacher and a colleague of mine told me today that she heard that there is such a shortage of teachers in the Katrina hit area that loan forgiveness is being offered...all of your student loan. I have been searching for any truth on this and can't find a word on it. The only thing I see is the LIFT program which is offered nationwide. Anyone know about this rumor?
Are highly needed teachers in the sped, math, science, ESL area being recruited with the promise that all of their student loans will be forgiven? All of it? At this point, I see it is rumor. Please tell me differently and where I can find info on it.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-07-2008, 11:36 AM

17 posts, read 70,961 times
It's probably true, but you've got to keep in mind what kind of school/area you might get assigned to. Jobs in reputable schools are quickly filled whereas schools in impoverished areas struggle to get teachers. They become desperate and have to put a generous package together to find/retain teachers. When I graduated college, I was offered something like this but didn't take it. A girl I knew took it and got assigned to a junior high in the ghetto. She was called racial slurs, attacked, harassed, you name it. She quit. You really need to do your research on this and visit the area where you'd be working because the incentive might not be worth the trouble.