U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 10:30 AM

8 posts, read 12,488 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I am a wounded veteran and have family in New England and we are considering moving to Maine from MT which looks to be a very beautiful and wooded State with alot of nice people from those that we have met.

We are Constitutionalist and Conservative but do try and adapt to our environment and do not attempt to force our beliefs on anyone. We like to live rural in wooded areas and want to have a farm, we like to hunt, fish, camp etc.

The gun laws in ME seem very similar to MT and even better to some degree as ME doesn't ban anything and seems very Pro 2A/RKBA and Constitutionalist to some degree and even has that ideology in the Maine State Constitution which is very good.
Maine 1819: "Every citizen has a right to keep and bear arms for the common defence; and this right shall never be questioned." Art. I, § 16.
Maine is a Shall Issue State concerning Concealed Carry and allows for Open Carry and is considering reciprocity concerning allowing other State Concealed Carry Licenses, Maine is also a Castle Doctrine State as well.
Maine has state preemption of firearms laws. No political subdivision of the state may adopt any law regulating firearms or ammunition, except for regulating the discharge of firearms.[140]