Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-11-2012, 07:07 PM

1 posts, read 1,205 times

Advertisements

Hello!

I am a recent college graduate thinking about moving to Hagerstown. I have read some good things about it. I am a teacher looking for a good school district, an area with a lot to do and see, low cost of living, and low crime. I would love to find an area that has adult rec soccer leagues, or other community sports. If I had to compare, I would like a town similar to Alexandria, VA. I love "Old Town" where you can walk everywhere and has everything you need (shops, coffee, theaters, restaurants/bars, pharmacies, etc.) I would move there but it is VERY expensive. So just a couple questions:

1) Why (or why not) Hagerstown?
2) Does Hagerstown have a lot of young people?
3) Small-town feel?
4) Good school districts?
5) Suitable for a young, single teacher? Cost of living?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2012, 08:30 AM

148 posts, read 369,910 times
I grew up in Hagerstown and most of my family still lives there, including my mom who spent her entire career as a teacher and mentor at Washington County schools. I think the school system is pretty good overall. I'm not sure about rec leagues. The cost of housing is much lower in Washington County than it is closer to DC and Baltimore.